Red-heads by Sarah Kay Hair

24 Jul

 

When I was a child, other children picked on me for having ginger hair, I wasn’t necessarily bullied, but I was definitely treat different, as the other kids would instantly dismiss me by first appearances.

At primary school, children picked on others for the silliest of things. In my teenage years it really hurt when the boys called me names, and when I would overhear snide remarks, like “if I was ginger, I would kill myself.” The thing is, you or someone reading this probably finds that hilarious, but it wouldn’t be so funny if someone said that about being black!

Children will target anyone who stands out from the crowd. Insults such as four eyes, ankle swinger, train tracks, goofy, big nose, are just some examples of how children are cruel, but they don’t really understand, they just copy what they hear. So what really annoys me, is when adults take the mickey. Surely, as adults, we should know better? It’s from us that our children learn.

That Katie something, who spoke on This Morning, and said children with common names are from uneducated families, caused an uproar. I watched her on The Wright Stuff, although I didn’t agree with that, I was agreeing with some things, until she said “ginger babies are hard to love!” And the non ginger nation laughs, I expect. Again, they wouldn’t be laughing if it was a comment about race. So what’s the difference? It’s still hurtful discrimination.

Gingerism is hilarious, because apart from having a microscopic mind, to joke about it takes the heat of ones own ugly faults. Such as Katie’s massive horse face! I can only presume her husband cheated on her with a redhead, leaving her very bitter. The presenter, Mathew Wright’s wife, is a redhead, so IN YOUR HORSE FACE Katie – I don’t even remember her full name! She doesn’t deserve a mention anyway. I didn’t even know who she was until she made the baby names remark, which was an obvious publicity stunt, because she’s so desperate for acknowledgement!

Where does this stereotype of red-heads come from? It comes from idiots like horse face, who pass it down to their children and then to theirs. Yes, some red-heads are ugly, as blondes, and as browns. But some red-heads are absolutely stunning, and amazingly talented. I don’t even need to mention names, you’re probably thinking of a few famous faces right now.

People will always pick on the minority, because although humans are privileged with the ability to be fair, sadly, human nature can be cruel, and generally, humans are still inept with the bullying instinct, pure animalisation, and it’s the lowest form of communication.

So before you look down at someone for what they look like, take a good look at yourself.

Leave a Reply

